Key West 2017 {Day Five}

June 22, 2017  •  1 Comment

{If you have been following along, you can scroll down to where this days adventures begin}

My husband and I celebrated 10 years of marriage earlier this month. For several years now, we have been planning a trip to Key West for a romantic getaway and we thought this would be the perfect opportunity. Our cousin Jenn lives in Key West and it was so nice having a local resident to show us around the island.

We flew directly into Key West and arrived on Saturday afternoon. After a quick ride through town, we unloaded our luggage at our home for the week. We can not say enough nice things about the house where we stayed -- The Fleming-O. It is located on one-way Fleming Street in a quite neighborhood in the Heart of Old Town. The location is perfect because it is only a few blocks from restaurants, art galleries, shopping and nightlife on Duval Street and also near the Historic Seaport area with more authentic restaurants with gorgeous water views, marinas, and Mallory Square. We loved being able to walk everywhere we wanted to go! I highly recommend the Fleming-O to anyone interested in visiting Key West! It truly is a "little pink house in Paradise"!!

{for more pictures and booking info click on the photo below}

It rained most of the day on our fifth day in Key West. Jenn had friends coming in to town the next day to celebrate their birthday so we spent most of the day helping her decorate for the party.

We did drive over to Stock Island to have lunch at an authentic, lesser-known restaurant -- Hogfish.

We chose to sit outside, despite the rain. The restaurant is tucked away in Safe Harbor and it is much more secluded than the restaurants downtown in Key West. I enjoyed listening to the light rain hit the water while we ate.

Hogfish is a well kept secret. I'm glad we know a local or we would have missed this place.

 

I had the Fried Hogfish Tacos. It was my first time to try hogfish but I couldn't pass up the opportunity. It was good!

Jenn had the Dragon Shrimp Tacos and they were good too. They were cooked with a sweet and spicy glaze.

Andy had Fried Shrimp and Chips. He enjoyed it.

I don't think I would ever get tired of seeing the ocean and palm trees.

We made a quick stop by Kmart on our way back to Jenn's house. Andy bought each of us two $1 scratch off lottery tickets.

I won $25 on one of my tickets! WooHOO!!! :)

The rest of the evening was spent relaxing. I think we were still tired from the previous days adventures.

And since we all enjoy each others company so much, it was kind of nice just hanging out with nothing much to do. :)

 

To read more about our other days in Key West, follow the links below:

{Days One & Two}   http://www.heatherreeder.com/blog/2017/6/key-west-2017-days-one-and-two

 

{Day Three}   http://www.heatherreeder.com/blog/2017/6/key-west-2017-day-three

 

{Day Four}   http://www.heatherreeder.com/blog/2017/6/key-west-2017-day-four

 

{Day Five}   http://www.heatherreeder.com/blog/2017/6/key-west-2017-day-five

 

{Day Six}   http://www.heatherreeder.com/blog/2017/6/key-west-2017-day-six

 

{Day Seven}   http://www.heatherreeder.com/blog/2017/6/key-west-2017-day-seven

 

{Days Eight & Nine}   http://www.heatherreeder.com/blog/2017/6/key-west-2017-days-eight-and-nine

 

 


Comments

Karen (Momma)(non-registered)
I'm loving reading your blog posts. :)
No comments posted.
Loading...
Subscribe
RSS
Archive
January February March (3) April May June July August (4) September (1) October (1) November December (5)
January February March April May June July August September October November December
January February March April May June July August September October November December
January February March April May June July August September October November December
January February March April May June July August September October November December
January February March April May June July August September October November December
January February March April (1) May June (7) July (1) August September October November December